It’s June, which means it’s the season for gaming news and announcements.

With E3 out of commission until next year, Geoff Keighley’s Summer Game Fest is now our first and foremost look at upcoming games. Geoff recently hosted the opening night of the event, complete with 2 hours of updates and reveals on upcoming titles… many of which were space-themed offerings.

There will be a few showcases in between (such as the Epic Games showcase and the Devolver Digital shenanigans) but the next big event that is part of Summer Game Fest is the conference and showcase by Xbox and Bethesda.

The studios hosted a similar event last year, showing off a crop of new titles and upcoming games to look forward to. There are a lot of eyes on Xbox and Bethesda this year – what with the disappointing amount of first-party Xbox titles as of late and the delay of Star Field – clamouring for some new information.

Just like we did for the Summer Game Fest opening night, a few of us here at 9 to 5 Gamers decided to try and predict a few things that may be shown off at the conference!

Xbox and Bethesda Showcase Start Date and Time

The Xbox and Bethesda Showcase this year is taking place on Sunday, June 12th. The showcase last year lasted for just under an hour and a half, so expect this one to follow suit.

The start times for the event are as follows:

  • US: 10AM PDT / 11AM MDT / 12PM CDT / 1PM EDT
  • UK: 6PM BST
  • Europe: 7PM CEST / 8PM EEST
  • Asia/Oceania: 2AM JST / 1AM AWST / 3AM AEST

The full schedule of events following the Xbox and Bethesda Showcase, including the Capcom Showcase, can be found on the official Summer Game Fest website.

Now that we know about when the event begins, let’s discuss what we at 9 to 5 Gamers think may appear.

Jack’s Prediction – Fable

If there is something that Xbox has shown since the release of the Xbox Series X it is this: they rule when it comes to things like Game Pass, but they are severely lacking in first-party games.

Phil Spencer assures us, and investors, that Xbox studios are working on a vast number of first-party games, even claiming that they plan to release 5 first-party games in the next year. However, if you look back on the last 12 months, their only real games of note have been Forza and Halo: Infinite, both of which are good games, but they are considerably lacking in exclusives outside of newly acquired Bethesda properties.

One game we know they are working on, though, and one that we haven’t heard about in some time is that of Playground Games’ Fable, a reboot of the classic fantasy RPG that originally came to Xbox consoles in 2004.

The last mainline Fable game (Fable 3) was released all the way back in 2010, with a few remakes and side games peppered throughout the following years until Lionhead Studios was closed by Microsoft. As a result, hype and interest in a new entry in the series have been high for Xbox fans.

Playground is known for their Forza line of games (with the most recent Forza Horizon 5 enjoying massive amounts of success last year) and so to see them work on a fantasy RPG is an odd, if intriguing, combination. The game was revealed in 2020 with a beautiful and comedic cinematic trailer that revealed the new developers and the tone that this new Fable game is going for.

Fast forward to today, and not much else has been talked about regarding the game.

We know that it has been in development for quite a few years at a good pace, which should hopefully mean that we will see a reveal sooner rather than later. Xbox need all the exclusive content it can get right now and a good Fable game on next-gen consoles would be a massive start: sure, they have fantasy properties from Bethesda and Obsidian, but there is just something special about Fable that sets it apart from things like The Elder Scrolls.

This would fill a good niche for Xbox: a 3rd-Person Fantasy RPG to go alongside their shooters like Gears of War and Halo or their racing franchise Forza. This is especially prevalent when they are about to get an influx of similar titles from Bethesda – announcing something Fable related would be a nice surprise and a way to present it differently from the tone of Bethesda’s own morality based RPGs.

There have been some rumours that this game won’t be making the showcase, but one can hope – Fable would be a perfect fit for the upcoming year of Xbox titles, so let’s hope that we can make evil decisions in a fantasy land soon.

Jay’s Predictions

I’ve been pretty majorly out of the loop with Microsoft and Bethesda for a while, but, I think we can expect a few big names to get more than a logo drop. I would have expected to see Redfall, but that just got pushed back to ’23. We’ll probably see some Starfield info, but I’d be shocked if we don’t at least get a few more details for The Elder Scrolls VI, considering the only thing they’ve allowed us to see is a brief flyover of a field with the ruins of a castle. Granted, Starfield is their primary focus and was initially scheduled to release this November, but given the recent delay to early ’23, I hope we get some more details about what it actually is and what we can expect from the gameplay.

From the Microsoft side of things, we’ve got a lot of rumors ranging: from Gears of War remakes to a Minecraft strategy game, but what I’m most excited about is the long-anticipated Forza reboot. We haven’t had a proper Forza Motorsports release since 7 in 2017, and no real information about the new ForzaTech-powered game aside from a brief breakdown of the way the tires interact with the ground, which sounds unimpressive but when we racing nerds hear that there are 48 times as many tire-to-road contact points in the updated engine as compared to the last one, our clutch foot starts to twitch. As a long-standing PC game pass subscriber, I’m also excited to see what is coming to game pass and have high hopes for the indie scene since they’ve recently added the excellent Vampire Survivors. It’s my favorite way to explore new games that I otherwise wouldn’t want to risk paying $20-$60 for.

Related: Summer Game Fest: The Recap

Cameron’s Predictions

Following the Summer Game Fest over the course of the weekend, Xbox and their newly acquired partner in crime Bethesda should hopefully be set to end the weekend with a barrage of mic-drop moments.

Firstly, Bethesda’s Starfield is in dire need of gameplay reveal following its disappointing delay from the end of this year into the ether of 2023. A much-needed demonstration of what the title is actually capable of after so much secrecy may be the only way to keep the hype from dying down. Obsidian’s Avowed is similarly in dire need of a proper showcase to properly wow fans with another solid Xbox exclusive for die-hards to look forward to.

In terms of what we don’t know as of yet, Spencer & Co could hopefully create some proper bombshell moments with various announcements. The much-leaked Goldeneye remake could make an appearance to the pleasure of fans everywhere, as could a Banjo-Kazooie-related title possibly drop to a deafening uproar. Fable, Perfect Dark, and Forza Motorsport all seem too far off into the future to be properly discussed, yet we can always be surprised.

Conclusion

Xbox is in one of the best positions it has ever been: Phil Spencer has been leading the company forward in so many areas, Game Pass is revolutionizing the industry and it has never been easier to get your hands on an Xbox game from XCloud. They keep going from strength to strength, and with the acquisition of Bethesda and Activision Blizzard, they have only continued to grow.

If they can deliver stellar games at a continued pace alongside their consumer-friendly practices, then they will be sitting very pretty indeed. Let’s all just hope that this upcoming showcase gives us all the confidence to continue walking down the path for the years to come.

The Xbox and Bethesda Showcase will be available on both Twitch and YouTube at 6PM BST and 10AM PDT on June 12th.

Check out another article from us at 9 to 5 Gamers here!

Jack Carson

Leave a comment